Marijuana possession is a controversial issue in Massachusetts and Rhode Island.
Currently, in Massachusetts, possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is a fine-only offense, with the punishment being a $100 fine. See Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 94C, § 32L.
That is not the case (as of yet) in Rhode Island. In comparison, Rhode Island allows qualified individuals to obtain a medical marijuana license and possess a small amount of marijuana without criminal liability. That is not the case (as of yet) in Massachusetts.
Yet without a valid medical marijuana license in Rhode Island, possession of an ounce of marijuana (first offense) is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to one year in prison, and/or between a $200-500 fine. See Rhode Island General Laws § 21-28-4.01(c)(2)(ii).
Many of those charged with simple possession are eligible to receive either community service and/or a filing. If you or a loved one is charged with possession of marijuana, you should contact an experienced, aggressive defense attorney to help get the best disposition possible.
Attorney Kate Godin has represented many defendants charged with marijuana possession (both on their first offense as well as with the intent to deliver). She is a strong advocate for legal possession of marijuana, and has recently been a guest speaker at a Greene University presentation on medical marijuana. Even those in legal possession of marijuana need to know their constitutional rights, especially in the context of police searches and car stops.
If you have a question about legal or illegal possession of marijuana in Massachusetts and/or Rhode Island, call Kate Godin today at (401) 274-2423 or email her at email@example.com.